Transatlantic Prize 2009

The Polish Book Institute has announced its fifth annual Transatlantic Prize, which is awarded to “an outstanding ambassador of Polish literature abroad.”

[The Transatlantic Prize’s] aim is to promote Polish literature on the world market and to provide a focal point for translators of Polish literature and its promoters (literary critics, scholars and organizers of cultural events).

The prize is awarded annually and is worth €10,000.

The winner is chosen by a Transatlantic Prize Committee including: Anders Bodegård, Jerzy Jarniewicz, Albrecht Lempp, Jarosław Mikołajewski, Ksenia Starosielska and the Director of the Book Institute [Grzegorz Gauden].

Up to this date the prize has been awarded to: Henryk Bereska (2005), Anders Bodegård (2006), Albrecht Lempp (2007) and Ksenia Starosielska (2008).

Candidates may be nominated by Polish and foreign cultural organizations, academic institutions, publishers, associations and private persons. Nominees may be of any citizenship other then Polish (including Poles with a foreign passport).

The deadline for nomination is March 31. See the Book Institute website for more details.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s